2017 Leinster Senior Inter-Provincial Team Report

Many thanks must go to Claremorris Tennis Club for their hosting of last weekends Irish Senior Interprovincial Championships. The clubs’ four courts produced fine displays of tennis, a number of epic battles and the intimate, up-close setting fit the format of the event well. Thanks must go to the catering staff who kept the troops fed throughout – not forgetting event officials Billy O’Reilly and Gerry Smyth for running a tight, well-timed show in good spirit: well played lads.

Extra large thanks to Nickie Coffey and Billy Meehan from Leinster Tennis for accompanying the team to the event, doubling up in supporting roles for the Leinster team as well.

Big shout out to the opposing provincial teams. These events are given more meaning when the competition is both fair and fierce – Leinster’s winning tally of 15 points from 18 looks commanding (and it was), though it should be said that the event went down to the final matches of day 2 due to Ulster and Munster's ability to arm-wrestle points their way in all matches throughout the event. And with due respect to recent history, a hat-tip goes to 2015 & 2016 Champions Munster for setting the pace and providing motivation as the trophy now heads north-east of their borders.

But most of all, congratulations to the Leinster players. From the moment the team pieced together, it was obvious that this well balanced team was one that could really just let its racquets do all the talking. And that they certainly did.. all business, no fuss. And an easy one for me as all players enjoyed and approached the event as a team, pulled in one direction and then put out some great performances. A stylish and, at times, dogged representative team effort.

2017 Leinster Senior Interpro Champions (and associated clubs) are:

  • Julie Byrne (Monkstown LTC)
  • Jane Fennelly (Donnybrook LTC)
  • Aine Leonard (Templeogue LTC)
  • Tanya Murtagh (Malahide LTC)
  • Susan McCrann (David Lloyd Riverview)
  • James Cluskey (Malahide LTC)
  • Mark Carpenter (Naas LTC)
  • Niall Fitzgerald (Greystones LTC)
  • Cal Craven (Fitzwilliam LTC)
  • Odrhan O'Sullivan-Hamill (Greystones LTC)
  • Non-Playing Capt: Justin Clarke (Naas LTC)



With a few tournaments left to complete the summer, Leinster's win here caps an already bumper Leinster Senior Tournament season with a number of championship draws featuring very strong fields. Of course, special mention is to be made of the return of a women's Pro Circuit event back to Ireland for the first time in 17 years in the Women’s Irish Open hosted by the capital’s Fitzwilliam LTC - with Ireland’s Sinead Lohan making an instant return on the investment I'm sure all concerned agree that it should remain as a focal point for our game. Leinster Tennis wish to thank it's winning team members, and all levels of active players, for supporting the Leinster Senior Tournament Calendar.

The 2018 Senior Interpro event takes place in Ulster.

It is now Leinster's turn to set the pace.

« Back

» News archive